Learning in PIDP 3240

I am towards the end of my PIDP 3240 journey. It has been a most enriching process of learning for me. I have always been intimidated by technology and this is a course on using technology. So, I had a lot of fears entering this course. Well, now, I have come to realize so many things. One, I am not that intimidated anymore. I am actually able to apply my learning and I am eager to use it on a daily basis and to try to incorporate it more in my daily teaching life. I realize that I can teach myself to do things like create my own Pinterest Account which I did being in this course. It was not a requirement but I just wanted to do it for the sake of my own learning and conquering my fears. Well, I am so happy I did it on my own without help from anyone. There’s still so much to learn and I know I need to organize my board and classify my pins. But, it ‘s a start and I am committed to it now since I put myself out there. I am also starting to use and apply my knowledge on teaching naked from reading our textbook and researching on it. I am actually exploring the use of YouTube in my teaching and sending students links before we discuss topics. I find it most useful because they can watch demos on YouTube and learn the different techniques that I am not able to show them all because of lack of time in the kitchen lab. However, I am able to create more time for them to practice it and I am there as their facilitator to help them out as I go around the kitchen  lab as they practice their skills.

I realize that there is just so much I can use as teaching tools and it is a great opportunity to teach at this day and age where we have so much resources available to us. It is overwhelming! Yes, but I choose to turn it into a positive experience and learning to focus on learning one thing at a time.  When I think of it this way, it becomes an amazing learning experience for me.

Therefore, slowly, I know I am progressing. I really enjoy teaching and I know that to become a more effective teacher I need to equip myself with all these tools. In fact, I believe now, that teaching has never been more exciting, knowing there is so much I can do as a teacher presented with all these resources. It is now a matter of doing it and practicing it.

This has been a great learning journey for me. I know that there is more to come. I also know that when I am stuck, I know what to do. It’s just one or a few clicks away…

.

Leave a Reply

